Menu Close

Colleges and Universities which are Still Institutional Members of the American Studies Association

Colleges and Universities Still Institutional Members of the American Studies Association (ASA) Despite Vote to Boycott Israel

Action Alert: Urge University Leaders to Withdraw ASA Membership


More than 80 colleges and universities are listed as Institutional Members of the American Studies Association in the September 2013 ASA Journal.  Following the ASA’s vote to endorse an academic boycott of Israel, five universities officially withdrew their ASA membership:

Bard College
Brandeis University
Indiana University
Kenyon College
Penn State Harrisburg
University of Texas – Dallas

Eleven colleges and universities on the ASA Institutional Members list deny that they are members of that organization:

Brown University
Carnegie-Mellon University
Hamilton College
Northwestern University
Temple University
Trinity College
Tufts University
University of Alabama
University of Mississippi
University of Southern California
Willamette University

The following colleges and universities have not withdrawn their ASA memberships or denied membership, although many of them have made statements condemning the ASA’s academic boycott of Israel.  Please contact one or more of the university leaders whose contact information is listed below and urge them to withdraw their university’s ASA membership.

To “Cc” all university leaders, scroll down to the bottom of the page.

* Indicates University has condemned the academic boycott of Israel

Universities and Colleges Name Title Email Phone
Boston College William P. Leahy, S.J. President 617-552-3250
* Boston University Dr. Robert A. Brown President, 617-353-2200
Brigham Young University Cecil O. Samuelson President 801-422-2521
California State University, Fullerton Mildred Garcia President 657-278-3456
California State University, Long Beach Donald J. Para President 562-985-4121
* College of Staten Island, CUNY William J. Fritz Interim President
* College of William and Mary Taylor Reveley President 757-221-1693
* Cornell University David J. Skorton President 607-255-5201
CUNY Graduate Center, American Studies Certificate Program Duncan Faherty Professor Graduate Center 718-997-4668
DePaul University Rev. Dennis H. Holtschneider, C.M.E. President 312-362-8850
* Dickinson College Nancy A. Roseman President 717-245-1323
* Emory University James W. Wagner President 404-727-6013
* Fordham University Joseph M. McShane, S.J. President 718-817-3000
Franklin College of Indiana Dr. James (Jay) G. Moseley President 317-738-8010
* George Washington University Steven Knapp President 202-994-6500
* Georgetown University John J. DeGioia President 202-687-4134
* Harvard University Drew Gilpin Faust President 617-495-1502
Kennesaw State University Daniel S. Papp President 770-423-6033
* Lehigh University Alice P. Gast President 610-758-3157
* Michigan State University, English Department Patrick O’Donnell Chair, English Department 517-355-7576
* Middlebury College Ronald D. Liebowitz President 802-443-5400
* New York University John Sexton President 212- 998-2345
* Princeton University Christopher L. Eisgruber President 609-258-6100
* Ramapo College Peter Philip Mercer, L.L.B., Ph.D. President 201-684-7607
* Richard Stockton College of New Jersey Herman J. Saatkamp, Jr. President 609-652-4521
* Rider University Mordechai Rozanski President 609-896-5001
* Roger Williams University Donald J. Farish, Ph.D., J.D. President 401-254-3200
Rowan College of New Jersey Ali Asghar Houshmand President 856-256-4100
* Rutgers University, New Brunswick Robert Barchi President 848-932-7454
Saint John Fisher College Dr. Donald E. Bain, Ph.D. President 585-385-8010
Saint Louis University William R. Kauffman Interim President 314-977-2506
Saint Olaf College David Anderson President 507-786-2222 x 3000
* Skidmore College Philip A. Glotzbach President 518-580-5700
* Smith College Kathleen McCartney President 413-585-2100
Sophia University Neal King, Ph.D. President 650-493-4430, ext. 229
St. Francis College Brendan J. Dugan President 718-489-5416
* Stanford University, American Studies Program Shelley Fisher Fishkin Director 650-723-1804
* Stanford University, Green Library Rebecca Ione Pernell Librarian & Head, Access Services and Auxiliary Libraries 650-725-1277
Stetson University Wendy B. Libby, Ph.D./Joan Beasley President/Executive Assistant (contact) 386-822-7251
* University of California, San Diego Pradeep K. Khosla Chancellor 858-534-3135
* University of Delaware Dr. Patrick T. Harker President 302-831-2111
University of Hawaii David Lassner Interim President 808-956-8207
* University of Iowa Sally Mason President 319-335-3549
* University of Maryland, Baltimore County Freeman A. Hrabowski, III President 410-455-3880
* University of Minnesota Eric W. Kaler President 612-626-1616
* University of New Mexico Robert G. Frank President 505-277-2626
* University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill Thomas W. Ross President 919-962-9000
* University of Notre Dame Rev. John I. Jenkins, C.S.C President 574-631-3903
University of Oklahoma Honors College David L. Boren President 405-325-1212
University of Southern Mississippi Rodney D. Bennett President 601-266-5001
* University of Texas, Austin William C Powers, JD President 512-471-1232
University of Utah David W. Pershing, Ph.D. President 801-581-5701
* University of Western Ontario Amit Chakma President 519-661-3106
University of Wyoming Richard McGinity President 307-766-3444
* Vanderbilt University Nicholas S. Zeppos Chancellor 615-322-1813
* Vassar Catharine Bond Hill President 845-437-7200
Washington State University Elson S. Floyd President 509-335-4200
* Washington University, St. Louis Mark S. Wrighton, Ph.D President 314-935-5100
Western Connecticut State University James W. Schmotter President 203-837-8754
Culture Youngstown State University Dr. Randy J. Dunn President 330-941-3101


Here is a full list of contact email addresses for the university leaders: ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, eisgruber@Princeton.EDU ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Skip to content