Menu Close


Good News for the New Year

Dozens of Universities and Jewish Groups Condemn
the Antisemitic Academic Boycott of Israel

December 30, 2013

In an encouraging turn of events after the membership of the American Studies Association (ASA) voted on December 15 to single out the Jewish nation by boycotting Israeli universities and scholars, dozens of universities and Jewish groups have spoken out against this antisemitic boycott. AMCHA Initiative will be updating this list continuously as more groups and universities will undoubtedly join in condemning the ASA’s antisemitic boycott after returning from the holiday break.

As of December 30, 2013, the following 4 universities have withdrawn their ASA membership:

Brandeis University
Indiana University
Kenyon College
Penn State Harrisburg

The following 81 universities have condemned the antisemitic academic boycott:

American University
Amherst College
Barnard College
Birmingham Southern College
Boston University
Bowdoin College
Brandeis University
Brooklyn College
Brown University
Carnegie-Mellon University
Case Western Reserve University
City University of New York System
College of Charleston
Columbia University
Cornell University
Dickinson College
Drexel University
Duke University
Emory University
Florida Atlantic University
Florida International University
Fordham University
Franklin & Marshall College
George Washington University
Goucher College
Hamilton College
Harvard University
Haverford College
Indiana University
Johns Hopkins University
Kenyon College
Lafayette College
Lehigh University
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Michigan State University
Middlebury College
New York University
Northwestern University
Ohio State University
Princeton University
Purdue University
Ramapo College
Rhode Island College
Rutgers University
Smith College
Stanford University
State University of New York (SUNY) System
Trinity College
Tufts University
Tulane University
University of Alabama
University of California System
University of California Berkeley
University of California Davis
University of California Irvine
University of California-San Diego
University of Chicago
University of Cincinnati
University of Connecticut
University of Delaware
University of Florida
University of Illinois System
University of Illinois at Chicago
University of Illinois at Springfield
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
University of Kansas
University of Maryland
University of Maryland – Baltimore County
University of Miami
University of Michigan
University of Minnesota
University of Pennsylvania
University of Pittsburgh
University of Southern California
University of Texas-Austin
Washington University in St. Louis
Wesleyan University
Willamette University
Yale University
Yeshiva University

The following 2 academic organizations have condemned the antisemitic academic boycott:

American Association of University Professors
American Association of Universities

The following 9 Jewish organizations have condemned the antisemitic academic boycott:

American Jewish Congress
Anti-Defamation League
Israel Action Network (JFNA and JCPA)
Scholars for Peace in the Middle East
Simon Wiesenthal Center
Stand With Us
World Jewish Congress
Zionist Organization of America


Skip to content