Evergreen State College Faculty on the ASA Boycott of Israeli Academic Institutions

We, the undersigned members of the faculty at The Evergreen State College, affirm our support for the American Studies Association's endorsement of the boycott of Israeli academic institutions.

We acknowledge and appreciate that this action is taken in recognition of the 2005 Palestinian Civil Society call for Boycott, Divestment and Sanctions (BDS), and is directed only at Israeli institutions, not individual academics. We applaud the ASA for taking this important step, aimed at securing equality and self-determination for Palestinians living under Israel's illegal occupation. In particular, we support the academic freedom of Palestinians, which has been systematically violated by preventing Palestinians from reaching their universities, traveling to conferences or to outside institutions for study, and restricting entry of international scholars into the territories.

The Evergreen State College and the Olympia community have played a significant role in the support of Palestinian self-determination. In 2003, our student Rachel Corrie died defending a Palestinian home from demolition. In 2010, our student body voted 78% in favor of divesting from companies that profit from the Occupation. In 2011, our local food coop was the first grocer in the United States to boycott Israeli products in support of the BDS movement, and our student-run café, The Flaming Eggplant, also joined the boycott. As with the American Studies Association boycott, those who voted in favor of these actions continue a long tradition of engaging in boycotts as a legitimate and non-violent tactic for social change.

We also express our gratitude to other academic associations that have supported the boycott of Israeli academic institutions, including the Native American and Indigenous Studies Association and the Association for Asian American Studies.

We offer our full support and solidarity as we all continue forward in the quest for justice and peace.

Therese Saliba, Ph.D., Third World Feminist Studies Greg Mullins, Ph.D., American Studies Anthony Zaragoza, Ph.D., American Studies & Political Economy Savvina Chowdhury, Ph.D., Feminist Political Economy Steve Niva, Ph.D., International Politics Naima Lowe, MFA, Experimental Media Jose Gomez, J.D., Constitutional Law Grace Huerta, Ph.D., Educational Leadership & Policy Studies Michael Vavrus, Ph.D., Education & Political Economy Karen Gaul, Ph.D., Anthropology Lin Nelson, Ph.D., Social Science Larry Mosqueda, Ph.D., Political Science Jeanne Hahn, Ph.D., Political Economy Anne Fischel, Ph.D., Documentary Media and Community Studies Laurie Meeker, MFA, Film Production and Media Studies Peter Bohmer, Ph.D., Economics Arun Chandra, DMA, Music Composition and Performance Alice Nelson, Ph.D., Latin American Studies Zoltan Grossman, Ph.D., Geography Amjad Faur, MFA, Photography

Comment by Therese Saliba on Sat, January 25, 2014 at 12:59 am

http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:2y2mr1RoCeYJ:www.theasa.net/from_the_editors/item/asa_members_vo_te_to_endorse_academic_boycott/+&cd=1&hl=en&ct=clnk&gl=us&client=firefox-a